How Willie Nelson Inspired Me

Forever 21

Forever 21 – Americana Denim Vest – $22.80

When I think of denim, I can’t stop myself from thinking of seeing pictures of my parents and me back in the early nineties with high-waisted acid washed jeans on. What do you know – its back in style again. Hopefully they didn’t through all their worn denim goodies away. A few months ago, I took one of Dad’s old Levi’s long sleeved light washed jean shirts and cut the bottom hem off, added some fringe, and rolled the sleeves up. For some reason, it has become one of my go-to pieces in my wardrobe. I’m not sure if it is the comfy, soft fit, or the thought that Dad wore it in all seriousness twenty years ago. 

The last time I was visiting home from college, I wore it over a semi-dressy black draped dress with around 500 necklaces, edgy black heels, and strong black eyeliner. When walking out the house, Dad asked me if I was trying to look like Willie Nelson or like a gothic rocker. I told him that I wasn’t sure but would let him know at the end of the night. 

After thinking about it more, I couldn’t decide which one I would rather look like. Both are interesting and odd choices, but if i was going for ole Willie, perhaps I would show the denim vest from Forever 21 shown above. Its impossible to exemplify him without a pulling out a few stars and bars.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Reply

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

CBS Denver

Find Denver news, Colorado news, Colorado weather forecasts and sports reports including Denver Broncos at CBSDenver.com.

Pardon My Closet

To the girls with overflowing closets and still nothing to wear

Miss Zombilicious

A little bit of fashion a little bit of me.

